7.8 Mt
Scope 1 emissions, 2025 ⓘ
—
t CO₂-e/MWh sent out, 2025 ⓘ
10.0 Mt
Scope 1 emissions, 2025 ⓘ
—
t CO₂-e/MWh sent out, 2025 ⓘ
8
Plants reporting in 2025
0%
covered by planned retirement dates
Basis:
Show data table
| Projection (equity share) | Mt CO₂-e, 2026 to 2050 |
|---|---|
| Planned retirements (GEM) | 196 |
| Closures 5 years late | 196 |
| No closures | 196 |
Show data table
| Projection (operational control) | Mt CO₂-e, 2026 to 2050 |
|---|---|
| Planned retirements (GEM) | 249 |
| Closures 5 years late | 249 |
| No closures | 249 |
Company target
Targets for European companies are not added yet (Oxford Net Zero Tracker; next step).
Plants and closure dates ⓘ
Methodology →Fossil plants closing
0 plants · 0.0 Mt
Fossil, no closure date
8 plants · 10.0 Mt
Renewables with end-of-life date
0 plants
| Plant | Fuel | Mt CO₂-e | TWh | Trend | Closure | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ferrera Erbognone Refinery power station | Gas & liquid fuels | 2.15 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 2.43 Mt · — TWh14-15 2.50 Mt · — TWh15-16 2.63 Mt · — TWh16-17 2.75 Mt · — TWh17-18 2.83 Mt · — TWh18-19 2.83 Mt · — TWh19-20 2.45 Mt · — TWh20-21 2.19 Mt · — TWh21-22 1.99 Mt · — TWh22-23 2.55 Mt · — TWh23-24 2.21 Mt · — TWh24-25 2.24 Mt · — TWh25-26 2.15 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Brindisi Nord power station 95% | Coal | 2.11 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 2.14 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.98 Mt · — TWh15-16 2.09 Mt · — TWh16-17 2.37 Mt · — TWh17-18 2.43 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.00 Mt · — TWh18-19 2.43 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.02 Mt · — TWh19-20 2.55 Mt · — TWh20-21 2.59 Mt · — TWh21-22 2.62 Mt · — TWh22-23 2.43 Mt · — TWh23-24 2.30 Mt · — TWh24-25 2.34 Mt · — TWh25-26 2.11 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Enipower Mantova power station 87% | Gas & liquid fuels | 1.86 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 1.71 Mt · — TWh13-14 0.00 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.65 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.01 Mt · — TWh15-16 1.69 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.01 Mt · — TWh16-17 1.70 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.01 Mt · — TWh17-18 1.72 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.01 Mt · — TWh18-19 1.76 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.01 Mt · — TWh19-20 1.65 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.01 Mt · — TWh20-21 1.76 Mt · — TWh20-21 0.01 Mt · — TWh21-22 1.86 Mt · — TWh21-22 0.01 Mt · — TWh22-23 1.72 Mt · — TWh22-23 0.00 Mt · — TWh23-24 1.84 Mt · — TWh24-25 1.73 Mt · — TWh25-26 1.86 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Ravenna power station 51% | Gas & liquid fuels | 1.63 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 1.80 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.59 Mt · — TWh15-16 1.69 Mt · — TWh16-17 1.73 Mt · — TWh17-18 1.82 Mt · — TWh18-19 1.71 Mt · — TWh19-20 1.86 Mt · — TWh20-21 1.81 Mt · — TWh21-22 1.92 Mt · — TWh22-23 1.79 Mt · — TWh23-24 1.80 Mt · — TWh24-25 1.59 Mt · — TWh25-26 1.63 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| S.E.F. Ferrara power station 51% | Gas & liquid fuels | 1.44 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.11 Mt · — TWh13-14 1.33 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.10 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.18 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.02 Mt · — TWh15-16 1.28 Mt · — TWh16-17 1.58 Mt · — TWh17-18 1.62 Mt · — TWh18-19 1.56 Mt · — TWh19-20 1.53 Mt · — TWh20-21 1.09 Mt · — TWh21-22 1.45 Mt · — TWh22-23 1.08 Mt · — TWh23-24 1.07 Mt · — TWh24-25 1.29 Mt · — TWh25-26 1.44 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Milazzo Refinery power station 50% | Gas & liquid fuels | 0.50 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.50 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.51 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.52 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.52 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.52 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.41 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.40 Mt · — TWh20-21 0.46 Mt · — TWh21-22 0.57 Mt · — TWh22-23 0.35 Mt · — TWh23-24 0.34 Mt · — TWh24-25 0.42 Mt · — TWh25-26 0.50 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Livorno power station 51% | Gas & liquid fuels | 0.16 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.69 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.55 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.55 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.60 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.65 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.67 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.53 Mt · — TWh20-21 0.54 Mt · — TWh21-22 0.36 Mt · — TWh22-23 0.26 Mt · — TWh23-24 0.27 Mt · — TWh24-25 0.21 Mt · — TWh25-26 0.16 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Bolgiano power station | Gas & liquid fuels | 0.14 | — | — | No date ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.07 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.06 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.10 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.10 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.10 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.11 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.11 Mt · — TWh20-21 0.11 Mt · — TWh21-22 0.13 Mt · — TWh22-23 0.12 Mt · — TWh23-24 0.12 Mt · — TWh24-25 0.13 Mt · — TWh25-26 0.14 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| No longer reporting under this company | ||||||
| Centrale di Torrente Tona | Not stated (no GEM link) | 0.07 | — | 21 | Retired / sold ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.07 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.10 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.10 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.10 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.10 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.10 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.11 Mt · — TWh20-21 0.10 Mt · — TWh21-22 0.07 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Brindisi Nord power station 95% | Coal | 0.02 | — | 19 | Retired / sold ⓘ | |
| 13-14 2.14 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.98 Mt · — TWh15-16 2.09 Mt · — TWh16-17 2.37 Mt · — TWh17-18 2.43 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.00 Mt · — TWh18-19 2.43 Mt · — TWh19-20 0.02 Mt · — TWh19-20 2.55 Mt · — TWh20-21 2.59 Mt · — TWh21-22 2.62 Mt · — TWh22-23 2.43 Mt · — TWh23-24 2.30 Mt · — TWh24-25 2.34 Mt · — TWh25-26 2.11 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| Unità di produzione galleggiante Firenze FPSO | Not stated (no GEM link) | 0.05 | — | 18 | Retired / sold ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.13 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.10 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.10 Mt · — TWh16-17 0.09 Mt · — TWh17-18 0.08 Mt · — TWh18-19 0.05 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
| S.E.F. Ferrara power station 51% | Gas & liquid fuels | 0.02 | — | 15 | Retired / sold ⓘ | |
| 13-14 0.11 Mt · — TWh13-14 1.33 Mt · — TWh14-15 0.10 Mt · — TWh14-15 1.18 Mt · — TWh15-16 0.02 Mt · — TWh15-16 1.28 Mt · — TWh16-17 1.58 Mt · — TWh17-18 1.62 Mt · — TWh18-19 1.56 Mt · — TWh19-20 1.53 Mt · — TWh20-21 1.09 Mt · — TWh21-22 1.45 Mt · — TWh22-23 1.08 Mt · — TWh23-24 1.07 Mt · — TWh24-25 1.29 Mt · — TWh25-26 1.44 Mt · — TWh | ||||||
Closure: ≤2030 · 2031-40 · later ·
↻ date moved · click a row for annual figures
Download the data
CSV files · CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
Please cite: Open Assets (University of Oxford & The University of Queensland). Power plant emissions and closures, version 2026-10. https://open-assets.ai/power/
- README.md citation, licences, sources, column notes
- power_company_series.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_plants.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_plant_annual.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_company_series_us.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_plants_us.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_plant_annual_us.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_company_series_eu.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_plants_eu.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_closure_events.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
- power_aggregate.csv CC BY 4.0 ⓘ
Sources & licences
- European Commission, EU ETS verified emissions per installation (Union Registry) (Verified emissions 2008-2025 and compliance data, October 2026). European installation emissions (power and heat), 2013-2025. CC BY 4.0
- UK Emissions Trading Registry, UK ETS registry compliance report (2021-2025). UK installation emissions from 2021. Open Government Licence v3.0
- ENTSO-E Transparency Platform, Actual generation output per generation unit (16.1.A) (2015-2025, downloaded October 2026). Company net generation and intensity in Europe (aggregated from units of 100 MW or more). ENTSO-E Transparency Platform Terms of Use (source cited; company totals only, unit data not republished)
- Global Energy Monitor, Global Coal Plant Tracker; Global Oil and Gas Plant Tracker (July 2026 (coal), August 2026 (oil and gas)). Plant owners and equity shares (equity-share basis). CC BY 4.0
- Open Assets data: CC BY 4.0. Company targets (Net Zero Tracker, CC BY-NC 4.0) and TPI data are shown on the site for comparison but are not part of the downloadable data. Cite as: Open Assets (University of Oxford & The University of Queensland). Power plant emissions and closures, version 2026-10. https://open-assets.ai/power/